top of page
Writer's pictureCharl Folscher

It's been a minute, Red Bull and Mozambique

Updated: Jan 2, 2021



It’s been a minute! About a week since I posted on here, I think. The 21 days consecutive posting is accomplished but I kind of miss the discipline although the last week was so hectic that I was thankful the 21 day streak was done. I interrupt my silence with this photo that brought me joy and disappointment at the same time. It’s my photo in the US version of the Red Bull magazine called The Red Bulletin. In fact 3 of my photos from my Mozambique assignment to photograph Team Rubicon’s work there after cyclone Idai got published. But no credit was given. Whatever the reasons it’s disappointing but still exciting.


This type of job makes me come alive. Anytime time I can get on a plane I am happy and here I had the opportunity to photograph the realities of the suffering after storm Idai and the context of the rest of the world coming to help. I even had the opportunity to see the command and operations centre led by the World Health Organization. It was like something out of a movie. The WHO meeting I got invited to with all the world’s major non-profits represented was also exhilarating and insightful. The World Health Organization is a much needed organization and do an amazing job in the world, regardless of some narcissist’s insistence that they don’t.


So in all, I loved the opportunity and experience to join an amazing non-profit, Team Rubicon (check them out), but a little bummed about the photo.

43 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page